Skip to content

Consumer Dignity and Choice


Standard 1 (Consumer Dignity and Choice) is the central standard that underpins all the other seven standards. It covers the rights of older people using aged care services including:



  • Dignity and respect 
  • Cultural safety Choice
  • Dignity of risk  
  • Transparent Communication
    • Personal privacy


      In this course you will learn:



      • Review Standard 1 of the Aged Care Quality Standards
      • Define dignity, respect and identity in the aged care sector
      • Recognise and respect the consumers social, cultural and spiritual differences
      • Maintain confidentiality and privacy of the consumer within organisation policy and protocols
        • Adjust services to meet the specific needs of the consumer and provide services according to the consumers' preferences


          Course Code: ESSCD